Club Tournaments Finals Day Saturday September 7th 2019

Words by Richard Cranston

Finals Day at Chalfont St Peter Tennis Day are always memorable occasions, and this year’s did not disappoint.

The finalists – after two rounds of knock-out matches – faced each other for pride and a place on the honours boards in front of their peers. On a sunny afternoon, many club members turned out to watch the tennis as well as have an enjoyable lunch as well as afternoon tea and cakes. Thank you to Chris Coteman and her team who catered for the event.

Ed Ibraham and Mike Scaddan played a very steady match in the Men’s Doubles against Nick Trigg and Adrian Radulescu and played out a comfortable win 6-2, 6-3.

But in the Mixed Veterans Doubles, Derek Harris and Cheryl Rezek didn’t have it their own way. They  narrowly won a first set tie-breaker against Jim Lofty and Angela Cranston; lost the second 1-6; but won the third 6-4 after being 5-0 up.

The Ladies’ Singles was one of the highlight matches of the day; newcomer Louise Blomquist and established member Therese Cooklin battling it out over three sets for 2 and ¼ hours. The rallies seemed never ending, with both players accurately placing the ball just inside the tram lines or just short of the base line. Louise won in a third set tie-break; the final score 4-6, 7-5, 7-6.

Jonny Popely was in fine form in the Men’s Singles, and there was little Will Lade – who also played well – could do to meet an almost immaculate display. Jonny won 6-2, 6-1.

Suzie Bower and Amy Richards dominated the first set of the Ladies’ Doubles winning 6-2 against Jane Clatworthy and Cheryl Rezek, but Jane and Cheryl staged a comeback, and nine deuces in the twelfth game of the second set led to yet another tie-break. Suzie and Amy prevailed, and the second set went to them 7-6.

The first set of the Mixed Doubles was close. Nick Trigg and Carolyn Edwards edging it 7-6 in the fourth tie-break of the day against Pete Spence and Therese Cooklin. But Nick and Carolyn were winners in the end, winning the second set 6-1.

It was good to see new members – or existing members who have not won finals before – winning, and the club welcomes Mick Scaddan, Derek Harris, Louise Blomquist, Amy Richards and Carolyn Edwards to the honours boards for the first time.

They are an inspiration for all club members who will be hoping to repeat their success in September 2020.